Study details

Europe's largest scientific multi-project management study!

Today, projects inevitably compete for resources and have complex content and time dependencies This has given rise to management tasks that require a holistic view of a company's project landscape. The Departments of Technology and Innovation Management at the Technical Universities of Darmstadt and Berlin are researching the critical success factors of project landscape management in close cooperation with practitioners. For more than ten years, the research group Multi Project Management (MPM) of Professors Alexander Kock (TU Darmstadt) and Hans Georg Gemünden (TU Berlin) has been collecting

data on best practices and success factors in project portfolio managementwithin the framework of regular benchmarking studies. In the past seven benchmarking studies, more than 700 companies with a joint portfolio volume of more than €150 billion have been examined. The analysis of the more than 70,000 detailed answers has resulted in over 30 scientific publications and eight successful dissertations to date. The findings contain levers for designing a more efficient and effective multi-project management in the future.

The MPM 9 Focus Topic: Triple-A Portfolio Management

Especially in this time of crisis, effective project portfolio management is a key competitive advantage to enforce the right priorities and react flexible to changes in the environment.


Agile. Not only individual projects but also the portfolio decision-making processes must become more agile.

Ambidextrous. Ambidexterity means simultaneously exploiting existing innovation positions and building up new innovation potentials.

Adaptive. Projects create a long-term but still unknown future. Therefore, strategic flexibility, the use of new emerging strategic paths, and the thinking in options are required.

You will find all information on the study in a compact summary in our information flyers.

All study participants receive an individual feedback report. Below you will find an extract from the individual report of the MPM Study 2017 with exemplary data.

Regular cycle

Every two years we offer you the opportunity

to regularly measure and

anonymously compare your MPM performance

through our benchmarking study. The next study will start in May 2020.

By participating in the study, you will receive an individual comparison with the largest MPM database in Europe and a company-specific feedback report on your MPM performance. Secure your participation in the study

and register online using our registration form.

Schedule

After your registration via our registration form, we will send you personalized links to participate in our

survey by e-mail. You will then have 4 to 6 weeks to complete the survey online. The total duration of the MPM study

is about 4 months. Afterwards we will evaluate the results, prepare your individual report and send it to you

by e-mail. Finally, we invite you to the MPM Practitioner Conference in Darmstadt in November 2020. There you can expect the presentation of the study results, inspiring practical lectures and the exchange with other study participants

about best practices and current trends in multi-project management.

Study goals

Identification and highlighting of "best practices"

Comparison of participating companies with top and low performers.

Presentation of current trends and developments in multi-project management

Comparison and interpretation of the results with previous studies

Analysis of success factors across all phases of project portfolio management


Target group

Large and medium-sized companies that face the challenges of multi-project management and have at least 20 projects to manage in parallel can participate in our benchmarking studies.

The addressees are project portfolio coordinators such as multi-project managers, portfolio managers, programme managers, persons responsible for the Project Management Office (PMO) and portfolio decision-makers from the board of directors, business, divisional, and departmental management.

Your benefits as a study participant

Individual feedback report

with comparision of your MPM performance with top and low performers

Evaluation of the MPM performance development

in comparison with the participation in previous MPM studies (only for previous participants)

Report of the study

with critical success factors and recommendations for a successful MPM

A scientifically proven questionnaire

for further internal evaluation

Guaranteed participation

in the MPM conference for a reduced fee

The Study is free of charge for participating companies

as the study is financed by research funds

Excerpt of participants from previous studies

We provide you with access to three different questionnaires, which can be conveniently completed online by different groups of informants:

Project Portfolio Decision-Makers

The target group is senior management, which makes decisions on project selection, postponement or termination. One decision maker questionnaire per portfolio is required. The time required for processing is about 25 minutes.

Project Portfolio Coordinator

The target group are people who have a very good overview of multi-project management as a coordinator in the company. One coordinator questionnaire per portfolio is required. The time required for processing is approx. 60 minutes.

Project Managers

The target group are project managers of the company portfolio, who ideally have several years of experience in the company. Any number of project manager questionnaires can be processed per portfolio. The time required for processing is about 20 minutes.

Excerpt from the participants of previous studies

3M ESPE | ABB | Airbus | AXA | Axel Springer SE | Bayer | Beiersdorf | BeOne Hamburg GmbH | Biotronik | BMW | Bombardier | Bosch Rexroth AG | Bundesagentur für Arbeit Nürnberg | Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo | Citibank | Claas | Coca-Cola | Continental | Daimler | DAK | Deutsche Bahn | Deutsche Bank | DFS | Deutsche Lufthansa | Deutsche Telekom | Dr. Acel & Partner AG | DZ Bank AG | E.ON | E.R. Capital Holding GmbH | Evonik | F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd | Federal-Mogul Sealing System GmbH | Flughafen Zürich AG | Giesecke&Devrient | Gothaer Versicherung | GPM Deutsche Gesellschaft für Projektmanagement e.V. | Hamburger Sparkasse | Harting Electronics GmbH & Co. KG Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG | Helbako GmbH | Helsana | Henkel | HP | Hochtief | Huber Suhner AG | HUK-Coburg | Investitionsbank Berlin | Inselspital Bern | KfW Bankengruppe | Kistler Instrumente AG | KKH-Kaufmännische Krankenkasse | Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder Trier | LogicX GmbH | Lufthansa Cargo AG | MAN | Mann + Hummel | Media-Saturn Holding GmbH | Motorola | Novartis O2 | Otto Bock | Paul Hettich | Parexel | PepsiCo Deutschland GmbH | Putzmeister | Robert Bosch | RWE | SAP | SBB | Schaeffler | Schreiner Group | Siemens | skyguide | STADA Arzneimittel AG | Stadtsparkasse München | Standard Life Versicherungen | SV Sparkassenversicherung | Swissport International Ltd. International | Symrise AG | TARGOBANK AG & Co. KGaA | Thurgauer Kantonalbank | Thyssen Krupp | Trumpf | Union Investment | Vattenfall | Volkswagen | WILO SE | Wittenstein | Zurich Group | Zürcher Kantonalbank uvm.

en_GB
de_DE en_GB

Details zur Studie

Europas größte, wissenschaftlich fundierte Multiprojektmanagement Studie!

Projekte stehen heute unweigerlich im Wettbewerb um Ressourcen und weisen komplexe inhaltliche und zeitliche Abhängigkeiten auf. Daraus sind Managementaufgaben entstanden, die eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Projektlandschaft eines Unternehmens erfordern. Die Fachgebiete für Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement der Technischen Universitäten Darmstadt und Berlin erforschen in enger Kooperation mit der Praxis die kritischen Erfolgsfaktoren des Managements von Projektlandschaften. Seit über zehn Jahren erhebt die Forschungsgruppe Multiprojektmanagement (MPM) der Professoren Alexander Kock (TU Darmstadt)

und Hans Georg Gemünden (TU Berlin) im Rahmen regelmäßiger Benchmarking-Studien Best Practices und Erfolgsfaktoren im Projektportfoliomanagement. In den vergangenen sieben Benchmarking-Studien sind über 700 Unternehmen mit einem gemeinsamen Portfoliovolumen von mehr als 150 Mrd. € betrachtet worden. Die Analyse der über 70.000 detaillierten Antworten mündete bis heute in über 30 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und acht erfolgreichen Dissertationen. In den Befunden finden sich Stellschrauben zur Gestaltung eines effizienteren und effektiveren Multiprojektmanagements in der Zukunft.

Das MPM 9 Fokusthema: Triple-A Portfoliomanagement

Besonders in der jetzigen Krisenzeit ist ein effektives Projektportfoliomanagement ein zentraler Wettbewerbsvorteil, um die richtigen Prioritäten durchsetzen und flexibel auf Veränderungen reagieren zu können.


Agil. Nicht nur einzelne Projekte sondern auch die Entscheidungsprozesse auf Portfolioebene müssen agiler werden.

Ambidexter. Beidhändigkeit bedeutet gleichzeitig bestehende Innovationspositionen auszubeuten und neue Innovationspotentiale zu erschließen.

Adaptiv. Projekte erschaffen eine langfristige aber noch unbekannte Zukunft. Deshalb bedarf es strategischer Flexibilität, der Nutzung neuer emergenter strategischer Pfade sowie des Denkens in Optionen.

Alle Informationen zur Studie finden Sie kompakt zusammengefasst in unseren Infoflyern.

Alle Teilnehmer der Studie erhalten einen individuellen Feedback-Bericht. Unten finden Sie einen Auszug aus dem individuellen Abschlussbericht der MPM Studie 2017 mit exemplarischen Daten.

Regelmäßiger Turnus

Im Turnus von zwei Jahren bieten wir Ihnen die Gelegenheit durch

unsere Benchmarking-Studie regelmäßig Ihre

MPM-Leistungsfähigkeit zu messen und anonymisiert

zu vergleichen. Die nächste Studie startet im Mai 2020.

Durch die Teilnahme an der Studie erhalten Sie einen individuellen Vergleich mit der größten MPM-Datenbasis Europas und einem unternehmensspezifischen Feedback-Bericht zu Ihrer MPM-Leistungsfähigkeit. Sichern Sie sich Ihre Studienteilnahme und

melden Sie sich online über unser Anmeldeformular an.

Zeitlicher Ablauf

Nach Ihrer Anmeldung über unser Anmeldeformular schicken wir Ihnen per Mail personalisierte Links zur Teilnahme an unserer

Erhebung zu. Daraufhin haben Sie 4 bis 6 Wochen Zeit die Umfrage online auszufüllen. Die Studienerhebung dauert insgesamt

circa 4 Monate. Im Anschluss werten wir die Ergebnisse aus, erstellen Ihren individuellen Abschlussbericht und senden Ihnen diesen

per Mail zu. Abschließend laden wir Sie im November 2020 zur MPM-Anwendertagung nach Darmstadt ein. Dort erwarten Sie die Präsentation der Studienergebnisse, inspirierende Praxisvorträge sowie der Austausch mit anderen Studienteilnehmern über

Best Practices und aktuellen Trends im Multiprojektmanagement.

Zielsetzung

Ermitteln und Aufzeigen von „Best Practices“

Vergleich der teilnehmenden Unternehmen mit Top- und Low-Performern

Darstellung aktueller Trends und Entwicklungen im Multiprojektmanagement

Vergleich und Interpretation der Ergebnisse mit vergangenen Studien

Analyse der Erfolgsfaktoren über alle Phasen des Projektportfoliomanagements


Zielgruppe

An unseren Benchmarking-Studien können Groß- und Mittelstandsunternehmen, die sich den Herausforderungen des Multiprojektmanagements gegenübergestellt sehen und mindestens 20 Projekte parallel zu managen haben, teilnehmen

Adressaten sind Projektportfolio-Koordinatoren wie Multiprojekt-Manager, Portfolio-Manager, Programm-Manager, Verantwortliche des Project Management Office (PMO) und Portfolio-Entscheider aus Vorstand, Geschäfts-, Bereichs- und Abteilungsleitung.

Ihr Mehrwert als Studienteilnehmer

Individueller Feedback-Bericht

mit Vergleichsdarstellung der MPM-Leistung zu Top- und Low-Performern sowie branchen- und portfoliospezifischen Auswertungen

Auswertung der MPM-Leistungsentwicklung

im Vergleich mit der Teilnahme an vorherigen MPM-Studien (nur bei vorheriger Teilnahme)

Abschlussbericht der Studie

mit kritischen Erfolgsfaktoren und Handlungsempfehlungen für ein erfolgreiches MPM

Ein wissenschaftlich erprobter Fragebogen

zur weiteren internen Evaluierung

Garantierte Teilnahme

an der Anwendertagung zu einem reduzierten Preis

Studie für teilnehmende Unternehmen kostenlos

da die Studie aus Forschungsmitteln finanziert wird

Ihr Beitrag als Studienteilnehmer

Sie erhalten von uns den Zugang zu drei unterschiedlichen Fragebögen, die von verschiedenen Personengruppen komfortabel online auszufüllen sind:

Entscheider-Fragebogen

Die Zielgruppe ist das höhere Management, das Entscheidungen zur Projektauswahl, Verschiebung oder Abbruch trifft. Pro Portfolio ist die Bearbeitung eines Entscheider-Fragebogens erforderlich. Der Zeit-aufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 25 Minuten.

Koordinator-Fragebogen

Zielgruppe sind Personen, die als Koordinator im Unternehmen einen sehr guten Überblick über das Multiprojektmanagement besitzen. Pro Portfolio ist die Bearbeitung eines Koordinator-Fragebogens erforderlich. Der Zeitaufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 60 Minuten.

Projektleiter-Fragebogen

Zielgruppe sind Projektleiter des Unternehmensportfolios, die idealerweise eine mehrjährige Erfahrung im Unternehmen haben. Pro Portfolio können beliebig viele Projektleiter-Fragebögen bearbeitet werden. Der Zeitaufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 20 Minuten.

Auszug aus dem Teilnehmerkreis früherer Studien

3M ESPE | ABB | Airbus | AXA | Axel Springer SE | Bayer | Beiersdorf | BeOne Hamburg GmbH | Biotronik | BMW | Bombardier | Bosch Rexroth AG | Bundesagentur für Arbeit Nürnberg | Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo | Citibank | Claas | Coca-Cola | Continental | Daimler | DAK | Deutsche Bahn | Deutsche Bank | DFS | Deutsche Lufthansa | Deutsche Telekom | Dr. Acel & Partner AG | DZ Bank AG | E.ON | E.R. Capital Holding GmbH | Evonik | F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd | Federal-Mogul Sealing System GmbH | Flughafen Zürich AG | Giesecke&Devrient | Gothaer Versicherung | GPM Deutsche Gesellschaft für Projektmanagement e.V. | Hamburger Sparkasse | Harting Electronics GmbH & Co. KG Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG | Helbako GmbH | Helsana | Henkel | HP | Hochtief | Huber Suhner AG | HUK-Coburg | Investitionsbank Berlin | Inselspital Bern | KfW Bankengruppe | Kistler Instrumente AG | KKH-Kaufmännische Krankenkasse | Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder Trier | LogicX GmbH | Lufthansa Cargo AG | MAN | Mann + Hummel | Media-Saturn Holding GmbH | Motorola | Novartis O2 | Otto Bock | Paul Hettich | Parexel | PepsiCo Deutschland GmbH | Putzmeister | Robert Bosch | RWE | SAP | SBB | Schaeffler | Schreiner Group | Siemens | skyguide | STADA Arzneimittel AG | Stadtsparkasse München | Standard Life Versicherungen | SV Sparkassenversicherung | Swissport International Ltd. International | Symrise AG | TARGOBANK AG & Co. KGaA | Thurgauer Kantonalbank | Thyssen Krupp | Trumpf | Union Investment | Vattenfall | Volkswagen | WILO SE | Wittenstein | Zurich Group | Zürcher Kantonalbank uvm.

de_DE
de_DE en_GB